Monday, January 24, 2022
Banner Top

The current power outrage being experienced across the country has been blamed on the collapse of eight power plants and a hydro station. These power plants include Sapele, Afam, Olonrunsogo, Omotosho, Ibom, Egbin, Alaoji and Ihovbor.

While the Jebba Power Plant was shut down for annual maintenance, seven other integrated power plants, including Geregu, Sapele, Omotosho, Gbarain, Omuku, Paras and Alaoji are experiencing gas constraints, while the Shiroro plant is experiencing water management problems.

This was contained in a statement signed by the Senior Special Adviser on Media and Communications to the Minister of Power, Aaron Airtimas, on Thursday, the 15th of April, 2021.

According to the statement, the Minister of Power, Sale Mamman, expressed regret over the development, even as he offered apologies to Nigerians for the inconveniences the power shortage has caused them, assuring that the ministry through the appropriate agencies was working assiduously to rectify the technical and gas problems affecting the plants.

“The problem is caused by the breakdown of some of the National Integrated Power Plants supplying electricity to the national grid. The national grid would be restored to its previous distribution peak of about 5,600MW of electricity achieved early this year,” the statement read.


Leave a Comment

Brent Crude Oil

WTI Crude Oil


img advertisement


img advertisement